Organic food and permaculture - Reisverslag uit Kerikeri, Nieuw Zeeland van Jasper Moek - WaarBenJij.nu Organic food and permaculture - Reisverslag uit Kerikeri, Nieuw Zeeland van Jasper Moek - WaarBenJij.nu

Organic food and permaculture

Door: Jasper

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jasper

30 September 2014 | Nieuw Zeeland, Kerikeri

A new month has begun and an amazing trip is about to kick-off. Today I will meet up with Kate, here in Kerikeri, to start hitchhiking to Cape Reinga, the starting point of Te Araroa. The last week I've been doing WWOOFing in a little town called Hokianga. My hostess lives on a mountain with her son of 11 years old, in a very remote area. Last week on tuesday they picked me up in Kerikeri, where the bus had dropped me off after a 4,5 hours drive from Auckland CBD. It was really good to be out of Auckland, the biggest city of NZ. The way up here was beautiful, mountains and sheep paddocks everywhere and you could see the ocean as well, almost hole of the trip.
Szuzsanna & Siddha were living on a beautiful piece of land with an even more beautiful wooden house, having all the colours of the rainbow from the outside. There were geese, chickens, a dog and a cat and lots of birds everywhere; occasionally you would spot a hawk or a kite, just cruising by in the sky. My temporary home was a little caravan with a solar shower attached at the back of it. Every morning I woke up with a nice cold shower to start the day with and after the work was done, I had another one :)
Mainly I did a lot of maintenance for Zsuzsanna around the house; fixing the outdoortoilet, reforcing some structures of the house, painting, etc. But we also worked a bit in the garden and I teached Siddha a bit of Dutch.
I learned a lot about organic food and eating 'really' healthy. There's a big difference in actually eating healthy and eating food what looks healthy. I got really into it and we went to the shop together to check out food, read labels and discuss the ingredients. It was so interesting and it really left a big impression on me.
Also the term 'permaculture' we discussed. This is a way of farming wherein you do everything on your farm in a sustainable way. All the things that are a part of your system/design on your farm, they all help each other. Somethings output, will be an input for something else on your farm. Look it up and get amazed by how cool it actually is. Well, in my perception at least ;)
It was a really interesting week, wherein I learned a lot. We also went to a theater one evening, for a dance performance, and that was nice too. We also milked a cow together and fed little calves, and after that we tasted the fresh, fresh, fresh, warm milk. Wauwww! The best drink ever :) The last 4 days we started the day(after my solarshower) with yoga. Zsuzsanna teached me some basics so I can keep on practicing while on the TA trail.
Like I said, it was a very eyeopening experience, incredibly interesting and I learned a lot. I think I've tasted a little bit from a way of life wherein I can see myself living in the future. Back to basic, that was the keyreason of going back into traveling. I think I've found something that really suits me and wherein I feel very comfortable.
And again, I followed my guts by calling Zsuzsanna when I saw her paper for the 5th time and it brought me so much. Please people, don't do it for me, but do it for yourself and start listening to that inner voice. Start listening to you and don't give in to the excuses that your mind makes up.
Well, that was in a short way how my last week has been to me, but now, it is time for the next step. I'm overflowing with excitement, Kate will be here in an hour and 15mins and were going to prepare ourselves to start hitchhiking. Hopefully we don't have to wait for hours, but at least the sun is out; it's a beautiful day for Te Araroa!

  • 02 Oktober 2014 - 16:48

    Marion:

    Leuk om te lezen Jasper....

  • 03 Oktober 2014 - 13:54

    Don & Britt :

    Super! Ontzettend naar je zin zo te lezen! :) Top! Leuk dat we er een klein beetje een beeld bij krijgen door de foto's.. Enne.. prachtige coupe heb je weer! :P Enjoy!! Xxxx Don & Britt

  • 06 Oktober 2014 - 00:11

    Sem:

    Leuk om te lezen maat, ik blijf je volgen geniet van alle momenten!

    Sem

  • 09 Oktober 2014 - 12:18

    Alexander Nijeboer:

    Ben super benieuwd naar hoe je trektocht je bevalt. Zal soms flink afzien zijn. Bedankt voor je kaart trouwens, Bea en ik waren ontroerd door je lieve woorden!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Jasper

Actief sinds 12 Juni 2011
Verslag gelezen: 499
Totaal aantal bezoekers 61113

Voorgaande reizen:

15 November 2011 - 11 Januari 2012

Ff op bezoek bij Ozzy in Thailand!

11 Januari 2012 - 30 November -0001

Mokum goes DownUnder!

14 Augustus 2014 - 30 November -0001

New Trip, New Life, New Zealand!

Landen bezocht: